Department of Labour

       The Department of Labour is one of the oldest Departments of Government and is carrying out the responsibility of Labour welfare and maintenance of smooth industrial relations. The activities regarding enforcement of Labour laws and promotion of industrial peace are simultaneously carried on, so that the twin objectives of industrial growth and Labour welfare can be achieved.

     At the State level, the Department is headed by the Hon’ble Minister for Labour and he is assisted by the Additional chief Secretary to Government. This Department has 3 Line departments directly functioning under the control of the Hon’ble Minister for Labour. At official level, the Additional chief Secretary to Government, Labour Department, controls and co-ordinates these 3 Line Departments.